The Scot Beds His Wife by Kerrigan Byrne

33574182The Scot Beds His Wife is the next lush, captivating Victorian romance in the Victorian Rebels series by Kerrigan Byrne.

They’re rebels, scoundrels, and blackguards—dark, dashing men on the wrong side of the law. But for the women who love them, a hint of danger only makes the heart beat faster.

Gavin St. James, Earl of Thorne, is a notorious Highlander and an unrelenting Lothario who uses his slightly menacing charm to get what he wants—including too many women married to other men. But now, Gavin wants to put his shady past behind him…more or less. When a fiery lass who is the heiress to the land he wishes to possess drops into his lap, he sees a perfectly delicious opportunity…

A marriage most convenient

Samantha Masters has come back to Scotland, in a pair of trousers, and with a whole world of dangerous secrets from her time spent in the Wild West trailing behind her. Her only hope of protection is to marry—and to do so quickly. Gavin is only too willing to provide that service for someone he finds so disturbingly irresistible. But even as danger approaches, what begins as a scandalous proposition slowly turns into an all-consuming passion. And Gavin discovers that he will do whatever is necessary to keep the woman he has claimed as his own…


Habitual readers of Kerrigan will already be familiar with the way she writes prologues that rip out your heart. This is not even kind of an exception to that rule. While we had previously heard of the event covered in the prologue (back in Liam’s book). We haven’t had it from Gavin’s perspective. I’m not a weepy person. Books only very rarely cause me to be overcome with emotion. Kerrigan’s heroes and their dark pasts though. I cannot help myself, they absolutely break my heart!

I love everything about Samantha. She is a heroine for the ages! What a character! A real rootin, tootin, sharp shootin cowgirl from the wild west. She is strong. She is brave. She doesn’t need anybody. She makes her own way. As happens in real life, Sam had to go through hell to get to this point in her character, and I love her for it. If I had to use one word to describe Sam, it would be “Resilient”.

Gavin is a unique hero. We already know what a horrible childhood he had. Learning about his mother and all she endured was heartbreaking. I could not endure what she did with as much grace. Gavin has inherited his gentle heart and sweet soul from his mother, but how can he keep himself in tact growing up with such a monster for a father? His story is not one for the weak of heart.

I absolutely fell in love with Callum, Gavin’s best friend. I definitely hope that he has his own story in the works. I was so glad, reading about Gavin’s childhood, that he had Callum’s dad to look up to. Each character, even the most minor ones, are very well rounded.

Stories featuring marriages of convenience in which the people accidentally end up falling in love are my favorite trope. This one was brilliantly done. Kerrigan is a master of the tortured soul. She brings life, love and freedom to the most damaged characters I’ve ever read about.

I could go on and on about how much I loved this story, but I will stop for risk of spoilers. Just let me say that if you haven’t read The Victorian Rebels yet, you are missing out on the best Victorian romance series I have ever read. Start at the beginning, and catch up! I already want to reread them all!

READ AND REVIEWED BY SHOWIE

Leave a Reply

