Lord of Night by Erica Ridley

33516789Unlike proper debutantes, Miss Dahlia Grenville is secretly Robin Hood in a bonnet. Her home for wayward girls has too many dependents and not enough donations. But just as she’s about to pull off the heist of the Season, she tumbles straight into the arms of the handsome detective who has sworn to deliver Mayfair’s mysterious thief straight to the gallows.

Highly principled Bow Street runner Simon Spaulding’s world is black and white. There’s no mastermind too clever, no criminal alive who can escape the hangman. Until he realizes the delightful young lady he’s been courting is a liar and a thief. Suddenly, his career—and his heart—are in peril. How can he bring her to justice when it means losing her forever?


Historical Romance is usually not on my TBR pile, but there are some recommended authors that I have now started reading, enjoying and of course adding to the ever growing TBR. I swear it seems to have a life of its own!

So when I came across this ARC of Erica Ridley, I jumped the chance to read an author that had been cropping up on my Kindle recommendations and who I had not as yet read. And of course, review my very first ARC :).

The plot was an interesting one, as one rarely reads Regency love stories about Bow Street Runners. Or at least I have come across very few of them. What I loved about Simon Spaulding was how uncomplicated and simple he was. As said earlier, his world was black and white, his actions, emotions and everything else too was as simple as that. He would get flustered, most ‘charmingly’ whenever our heroine flirted or shocked him with her speech and antics. He was a man who was easy to love and who was the perfect character for a Runner, as I would have envisioned them.

Dahlia on the other hand, intrigued me from the word go. Obviously she had been introduced in earlier books, hence some things were left unsaid, but overall, she was naughty and nice and a perfect match for Simon. Of course, I have to now go read the entire ‘Rogues to Riches Series’ to know more about the characters that are linked to this one.

I especially enjoyed the scenes of their interactions with each other; Simon’s with the girls of the boarding house; Simon with his half brother which had me a little teary; the intriguing relationship between Faith and Hawkridge and the final proposal of marriage with turned out quite funny if it were not so sad.

Overall, I loved the simplicity of this book. How easily they met, fell in love, had a misunderstanding and finally got together. I wish the end had been a little more long drawn out though. I would have loved to see some more grovelling from Simon considering the way he behaved while arresting her.

Needless to say, I have already started Book 1 of this series, and am just on chapter one, but enjoying it as much. Erica Ridley definitely  goes on my ‘HR authors to watch out for’ list.

READ AND REVIEW BY SUPRIYA

Leave a Reply

