The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter

9681214Every girl who had taken the test has died.

Now it’s Kate’s turn.

It’s always been just Kate and her mom – and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate’s going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear that her mother won’t live past the fall.

Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld – and if she accepts his bargain, he’ll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he’s crazy – until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she’ll become Henry’s future bride and a goddess.

If she fails…


This book was a pleasant surprise. I fell in love with mythology when I was in the 4th grade. My love has only gotten stronger with age. I love mythic fiction, but I am also always a little nervous to trust new authors with my beloved stories. Aimee Carter did a great job of giving a new twist to an old tale.

The story is very well done. You have to appreciate this story as something separate from the classic tale. If you are the kind of reader that gets  offended if a modern twist reinvents some of the original details, this story is not for you. However, if you are the kind of reader that can appreciate a modern twist as a fun fiction, you will love it.

The writing was excellent. It was a full on page turner. I read it until 2am when I finally finished it. It was, perhaps, a little juvenile, but nothing extraordinary for Young Adult. I bought the rest of the series as soon as I finished this one. I cannot wait to see how the rest of this story plays out.

READ AND REVIEWED BY SHOWIE

Leave a comment